Forthcoming Attractions

Today was my parents’ wedding anniversary. On this day, 25 years ago, they both had the courage to stand in front of their family and friends, proclaiming that they will be togethet until death do them part. And, despite my father having a growing collection of birds and my mother becoming increasingly addicted to crime shows (attemping to find the perfect murder so she can copy it, she says), they remain happily married. And I hope they do so for another 25 years, at least.

However, it got me thinking about my life, and what is happening or about to happen. As of now, Kristen and I are looking forward to meeting up with an Ultimate Frisbee friend before work on Thursday morning. This weekend, we will be heading out to the other side of South Korea to witness the cherry blossoms blooming in all of their natural beauty. Next month, we might go to the beach. While these are all likely to be amazing experiences, they don’t really compare with what they experienced: having a wedding on the horizon.

I think it is indicative of how society has changed over the 25 years since my parents got married. While, back then, you were expected to, to paraphrase Cat Stevens, find a job, settle down, and get married (if you wanted to). Now, it is possible to travel to the other side of the world to teach your language to small children without being thought of as too much of a mad person. Or maybe you are all judging us behind our backs and sniggering, and I only feel supported because of confirmation bias, disproving my point entirely. I don’t think that the latter is the case, though.

Whatever the case may be, Kris and I are definitely reveling in our time here – each experience in South Korea is filled with a sense of wonder. Whether it is travelling around the country or something as simple as watching the cherry blossoms flower in the trees on our walk to work, we know that they are opportunities that those who raised us did not have the chance to do when they were younger.

They were too busy providing for us, taking care of us, and making sure we could have opportunities like this. I can only hope that one day I can do the same for my own children. Thank you, mom and dad. Without you, I wouldn’t be here. I hope that I will one day be half as good a parent as you are. Until then, I’ll cherish every flowering plant, every game of Frisbee, every bad day at work. All because you made me the person that I am today.

Leave a Reply

